Thursday, September 5, 2013

Throwback Thursday - Thieves' World

Thank you Mandi Kaye! I love the Throwback Thursday meme (maybe because I have so much throwback! :-).

My Throwback is a delightful series of stories set in the same corner of the same world - the city of Sanctuary in the Rankan Empire. From there the variety is immense. The original series of 12 anthologies were all edited by Robert Asprin (and many by his wife in concert - Lynn Abbey) and included contributions from many authors, including such heavyweights as Marion Zimmer Bradley, C. J. Cherryh, Poul Anderson, John Brunner, Chris Morris, and Janet Morris.

They were published over eleven years from 1978 to 1989 and spun off 7 "official" novels and 6 "unofficial" novels and three more anthologies.

The books can be read independently but I would strongly recommend reading the first anthology first, as it sets the basics of the milieu on which all the stories are set.

Original Anthologies:

  Thieves' World (1979)
  Tales from the Vulgar Unicorn (1980)
  Shadows of Sanctuary (1981)
  Storm Season (1982)
  The Face of Chaos (1983)
  Wings of Omen (1984)
  The Dead of Winter (1985)
  Soul of the City (1986)
  Blood Ties (1986)
  Aftermath (1987)
  Uneasy Alliances (1988)
  Stealers' Sky (1989)

Drop a comment on something that you'd recommend! 

1 comment:

  1. YAY! I had missed this feature too, and I'm glad I brought it back. Thanks for joining!